It's taken me all my life to learn what not to play. -- Dizzie Gillespie

Home / Jazznews / Jazz festival in Greece / Greek Jazz Panorama - New Generation / 2
A+ R A-

Greek Jazz Panorama - New Generation / 2

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Greek Jazz Panorama - New Generation /2 - 11-13 June 2015 - at 21:00 on the roof of Onassis Cultural Centre 107-109 Syngrou Avenue   - Athens — 210 9005800 - -  For three summer nights, six groups representing the up-and-coming Greek jazz generation will be in concert on the Onassis Cultural Centre roof terrace. The Greek jazz scene has finally found a permanent home at the... OCC.

The upcoming generation of Greek jazz musicians isn’t coming to lay claim to a place on the Greek jazz scene; it’s already an integral part of it. Dynamic, daring, imaginative, graced with virtuosity and a remarkable ability to synthesize, the ’20-to-30-something’ generation casts off its inwardness, embarks on a courageous exploration of roads less travelled, and offers us fascinating recordings and concerts which confirm its dynamism.

Above all else, these up-and-coming musicians engage with contemporary trends on the international jazz scene with enviable ease, and are laying the foundations for a remarkable future. The new generation is just as comfortable playing alongside established virtuosos of previous generations as with their contemporaries from abroad, travelling to the four corners of the world to perform, enhancing its already impressive profile and sending our expectations and our adrenalin soaring in the process!

The new generation of the Greek jazz scene is already very good and very genuine. And we will be here, on the OCC roof terrace, June 11-13, to hear six superb combos play us the future, right here and right now!

Thursday 11 June 2015

Thodoris Kotsifas Quartet
Thodoris Kotsifas: guitar
Vaggelis Stefanopoulos: piano
Vasilis Podaras: drums
Giorgos Georgiadis: double bass

Michalis Katachanas Trio
Michalis Katachanas: viola
Kostis Christodoulou: piano, keyboards
Dimitris Klonis: drums

Friday 12 June 2015

Markos Chaidemenos Trio
Markos Chaidemenos: piano
Kostas Patsiotis: double bass
Giorgos Kosteletos: drums

Je Swing
Giorgos Ventouris: double bass
Eirini Triantafyllidi: vocals
Antonis Arfanis: guitar
Giorgos Chronopoulos: guitar
Giorgos Tsiatsoulis: accordeon

Saturday 13 June 2015

Konstantinos Stouraitis Quartet
Konstantinos Stouraitis: guitar
Kimon Karoutzos: double bass
Giannis Papadoulis: drums
Stratos Vougas: saxophone

Vakirtzoglou / Kleijn Duo
Terry Vakirtzoglou: vocals
Daan Kleijn: guitar

Ticket Prices:
15 € including one drink (beer or wine)
Tickets for the concert can be purchased from Friday 5 June daily 17:00-00:00 at HYTRA restaurant (7th floor - OCC) and on the concert day from 20:00 at the OCC's Main Lobby.

Last modified on Tuesday, 10 November 2015 14:01