Not too slow, not too fast. Kind of half-fast. -- Louis Armstrong
Home / Discography / The Whammies - 2012
A+ R A-
15 Oct

The Whammies - 2012

Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Whammies Play the Music of Steve Lacy

Jorrit Dijkstra: alto sax, lyricon, analog electronics
Pandelis Karayorgis: piano
Jeb Bishop: trombone
Nate McBride: bass
Han Bennink: drums
guest: Mary Oliver, violin, viola

Released 15 October 2012

All compositions by Steve Lacy, except Locomotive by Thelonious Monk.

Bone is part of the six-part Tao Suite, and based on a poem by Lao Tze
As Usual is based on a poem by Bob Kaufman
Dutch Masters is based on a painting by Larry Rivers
I Feel a Draft is part of the three-part Precipitation Suite

Recorded on February 2nd, 2012 by Matt Hayes at Wellspring Sound, Acton, MA
Mixed and mastered by Antonio Oliart at Oliart Studio, Watertown , MA
Produced by Pandelis Karayorgis and Jorrit Dijkstra
Cover art by Han Bennink, design by Hidde Dijkstra
Thanks to Curt Newton, the Netherland America Foundation, Julie Mallozzi, Ken Schaphorst, Irene Aebi-Lacy, Jef Charland, David Hawthorne Violin Bows, Rob Miller.

Driff Records/1201